Sydney and it’s uniqueness

Never did I thought that my foot would set on this land. I remember aussie guy asking me several times when will I go to Australia. We were just former classmates then. I would always tell him “maybe soon”. I was scared to actually go there alone and see him because it might mean something else. Again, I previously had lesbian partner so I’m not really sure if I should accept the invitation. Secondly, I’ve already fallen in love with Japan. It was always my goal to move there so there was really no need to go elsewhere. 

Fast forward to now, my connection to aussie guy became somewhat closer so I decided to finally say sure I will go there. After several months of waiting for a good priced ticket, I was able to booked without hurting the bank. Next challenge was to apply for visa. Unlucky for a Philippine passport holder like me, most of the countries I’d like to visit requires visa. Australian visa is way more complicated than Japan. I need to provide all financial documents and proof that I will come back in Manila. Three days after my online submission for visa, I got an email that I was approved. I cried. Really, I cried because I thought of maybe this is the real path that I should go. You know, it’s a straight path for me now.

It took 8 hours and 33 minutes. That’s my total travel time from Manila to Sydney. Longest and my most anticipated. When I was done with the Immigration check, I found aussie guy in his seat, playing with his phone. I said “hi”. We hugged each other and he began the tour. I noticed Sydney is really a mixed country. It’s like being in all countries of Asia, Australia, New Zealand and Ireland included. It was raining but I didn’t mind. I missed the cold weather. I saw too many maple leaves on the ground. It was magical! I appreciate things like that!

I saw the magical Cathedral. The weird artsy stuff everywhere. I also noticed that aside from the beauty, Sydney has flaws. The homeless people everywhere. The trash. The expensive water in convenience store. But I didn’t care. These things made Sydney unique and beautiful. 

I am half hearted as to should I go back. My heart says says but mind says no. I miss aussie guy. I miss walking in the park while holding hands. Sharing a bowl of donburi and gelato. I miss everything. It’s just that if I come back, will I still cry when I need to leave again? Oh Australia, you made me love you without impressing me too much.

Leave a Reply

